×

Do you want to link to other websites and leave Amgen.cn?

You are now leaving Amgen China website. Amgen China takes no responsibility for the information contained on the Amgen international server or site which you will be accessing. The information you are about to access may not comply with the China regulatory environment.

×

Do you want to link to other websites and leave Amgen.cn?

You are now leaving Amgen China website. Amgen China takes no responsibility for the information contained on the Amgen international server or site which you will be accessing. The information you are about to access may not comply with the China regulatory environment.

AMGEN FOUNDATION LAUNCHES AMGEN BIOTECH EXPERIENCE IN CHINA

News Releases
20 Sept 2017
Amgen Foundation Launches Amgen Biotech Experience In China

Long-Established Science Education Program to Give 3,000 Local Secondary School Students Hands-On Biotechnology Lab Experience

SHANGHAI (Sept. 20, 2017) – The Amgen Foundation, in partnership with Shanghai Jiao Tong University, today announced the launch of the Amgen Biotech Experience (ABE) program in China, as part of a $10.5 million investment in the longstanding science education program. Globally, ABE is expected to reach nearly 900,000 secondary school students by 2020 in 18 regions around the world.

For nearly 30 years, ABE has empowered high school science teachers to implement real-world biotechnology labs in their classrooms, helping their students better understand science and how it influences their daily lives. The three-week in-class lab initiative provides teachers professional development, teaching materials, and research-grade equipment to classrooms to immerse students in the concepts and techniques scientists use to discover and develop medicines.

The Amgen Foundation's total past and current commitment to ABE now reaches more than $25 million, bringing the Foundation's total commitment to science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education to more than $125 million globally.

“Science-driven is the core of Amgen value,” said Wenjie Zhang, general manager at Amgen China. “We are not only committed to providing Chinese patients with advanced therapeutic solutions, but also seeking to advance excellence in science education to young generation. We are excited to see how ABE will inspire Chinese students in science and help foster future scientists.”

Results of an independent and rigorous evaluation by WestEd found that ABE students have shown significant and substantial gains in biotechnology learning as well as increased confidence and interest in doing science and biotechnology. Preliminary results show that:

  • students had a statistically significant increase of their biotechnology knowledge and skills (p < 0.001);
  • students averaged a 20 percent increase between pre- and post-test scores;
  • 82 percent of students got new ideas about what happens in science labs;
  • 72 percent of students got new ideas about what science is;
  • 53 percent of students are more interested in learning about scientific research;
  • 53 percent of students report increased interest in science careers from ABE participation.

Separately, Change the Equation, a coalition working to improve STEM literacy, distinguished ABE with the highest possible ranking in STEMworks, its database of effective STEM education programs. Business leaders, funders and STEM advocates use STEMworks to find proven, scalable programs to help them maximize their impact on STEM education.

In China, ABE is expected to engage nearly 15 teachers during the coming academic year. Recently, the Amgen Foundation announced ABE’s expansion to Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, Italy, Netherlands and Singapore. The program is already underway in the United States, Puerto Rico, United Kingdom and Ireland.

Learn more about ABE by visiting AmgenBiotechExperience.com. To learn more about the Amgen Foundation’s other science education programs, visit AmgenInspires.com.

About the Amgen Foundation
The Amgen Foundation seeks to advance excellence in science education to inspire the next generation of innovators, and invest in strengthening communities where Amgen staff members live and work. To date, the Foundation has donated over $250 million to local, regional, and international nonprofit organizations that impact society in inspiring and innovative ways. The Amgen Foundation brings the excitement of discovery to the scientists of tomorrow through several signature programs, including Amgen Scholars, Amgen Biotech Experience, and Amgen Teach. For more information, visit www.amgeninspires.com and follow us on Twitter @AmgenFoundation.

About Amgen China

Amgen is committed to unlocking the potential of biology for patients suffering from serious illnesses by discovering, developing, manufacturing and delivering innovative human therapeutics. This approach begins by using tools like advanced human genetics to unravel the complexities of disease and understand the fundamentals of human biology.

Amgen focuses on areas of high unmet medical need and leverages its expertise to strive for solutions that improve health outcomes and dramatically improve people’s lives. A biotechnology pioneer since 1980, Amgen has grown to be one of the world’s leading independent biotechnology companies, has reached millions of patients around the world and is developing a pipeline of medicines with breakaway potential.

Amgen established an affiliate in China in 2012, and has since opened its China Headquarters and Asia Research & Development Center in Shanghai. Amgen also has an office in Beijing, which is responsible for drug registration and clinical trials, with the aim to deliver its medicines to patients in China. For more information, visit www.amgen.cn.

About Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), as one of the higher education institutions which enjoy a long history and a world-renowned reputation in China, is a key university directly under the administration of the Ministry of Education (MOE) of the People's Republic of China and co-constructed by MOE and Shanghai Municipal Government. Through 121 years' unremitting efforts, SJTU has become a comprehensive, research-oriented, and internationalized top university in China.

SJTU has had 28 schools/departments, 21 research institutions, 13 affiliated hospitals, 2 affiliated medical research institute, 12 directly affiliated units and 6 directly affiliated enterprises. Today SJTU has 64 undergraduate programs covering 9 major disciplines: economics, law, literature, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine, management and arts. Up to now SJTU has 38 first-level disciplines authorized to offer doctorate degree covering 8 fields: economics, law, literature, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine and management; 56 first-level disciplines authorized to offer master degree covering all the 12 discipline fields; 3 disciplines authorized to offer professional doctorate degree; 23 disciplines authorized to offer professional master degree; 35 postdoctoral research station. For more information, visit www.sjtu.edu.cn.

×

您想链接到这个 外部网站 并离开当前安进中国网站吗?

您正在离开安进中国网站。 安进中国对您将访问的安进国际服务器或站点所展示的信息不承担任何责任。您将访问的信息可能不符合中国监管环境。

安进基金会将“安进生物技术体验”项目引入中国

新闻稿


七月. 20,2017

安进基金会将“安进生物技术体验”项目引入中国

此长期科学教育项目将为约3,000名中学生带来 身临其境的生物技术实验室体验

中国上海(2017年9月20日)——今天,安进基金会 (The Amgen Foundation) 与其合作学校上海交通大学正式宣布,将“ 安进生物技术体验”(Amgen Biotech Experience, ABE) 项目引入中国。“安进生物技术体验”是安进长期科学教育项目的一部分,该项目预计总投入1,050万美元。到2020年,“安进生物技术体验”项目将惠及全球18个地区的近90万名中学生。

近30年来,“安进生物技术体验”项目实现了高中科学教师们将生物技术实验室搬进课堂的教学设想,帮助无数学生深入领悟科学及其对日常生活的影响。为期三周的“课堂实验室”推动了教师的专业发展,并通过提供教学材料和科研级的设备,让学生们亲身体会科学家研发药物的理念和技术。

安进基金会迄今为止已在“安进生物技术体验”项目中累计投入超过2,500万美元,这意味着其在全球科学、技术、工程和数学 (STEM) 教育中的投入已超过1.25亿美元。

安进公司中国区总经理张文杰先生表示:“科学是安进公司的立足之本。我们不仅致力于将先进的治疗方案带给中国患者,同时也积极参与年轻一代科学教育事业。我们很高兴看到‘安进生物技术体验’项目进入中国,激发学生对于科学的兴趣,助力对未来科学家的培养。”

根据WestEd一项独立、严谨的评估结果,参与 “安进生物技术体验” 项目的学生在生物技术课程的学习中取得了显著的实质性进步,并对从事科学和生物技术相关职业表现出更强的信心和兴趣。初步结果表明,通过参与 “安进生物技术体验” 项目:

  • 学生的生物技术相关知识及技能水平获得显著提升(p<0.001);
  • 学生成绩比参与项目前平均提高20%;
  • 82%的学生对 “科学实验室可以做什么” 有了新的认识;
  • 72%的学生对 “什么是科学” 有了新的认识;
  • 53%的学生对深入了解科学研究有了更加丰富的兴趣;
  • 53%的学生表示,他们对未来从事科学研究相关工作的兴趣有所提高。

此外,致力于提高STEM素养的联盟Change the Equation将“安进生物技术体验”项目在其STEM教育项目的 数据库——STEMworks中评定为最高级别。STEMworks经常被商业领袖、投资者和STEM教育倡导者用于寻找可靠且具备扩展潜力的项目,并帮助项目实现对STEM教育影响的最大化。

在即将到来的学年中,预计将有近15名教师参与到“安进生物技术体验”项目中。近日,安进基金会已宣布“安进生物技术体验”项目将扩展至澳大利亚、加拿大、中国、法国、德国、中国香港特别行政区、意大利、荷兰和新加坡等国家和地区。目前这一项目已在美国、波多黎各、英国和爱尔兰等国家和地区开展。

更多关于“安进生物技术体验”的信息请访问 AmgenBiotechExperience.com。如需了解安进基金会其他科学教育项目,请访问 AmgenInspires.com

关于安进基金会
安进基金会旨在促进科学教育、激发新一代的创新精神、加强安进员工生活工作所在社区的建设。迄今为止,基金会向地方、区域和国家级非营利机构捐款超过 2.5亿美元,以创新的方式回报社会。安进基金会通过若干科学教育项目来激励和培养未来的科学家,包括“安进学者”(Amgen Scholars),“安进生物技术体验”(Amgen Biotech Experience),和“安进教师计划”(Amgen Teach)等。更多信息请访问 www.amgeninspires.com

关于安进中国 安进公司主要从事人类创新药物的探索、研发、生产和销售,致力于发掘生物科技潜力以用于对患有严重疾病患者的治疗。通过借助前沿人类遗传学等工具,安进公司力求揭示疾病的复杂性,为理解人类生物学原理奠定基础。

安进公司专注于有巨大未满足医疗需求的领域,利用其生物制药的先进经验为提高人类的健康水平做出贡献。自从公司1980年创始以来,安进公司已经成长为全球领先的独立生物技术公司之一,为全球数百万患者提供创新药物,同时拥有一批极具潜力的在研药物。

安进自2012年以来开始着手设立中国的分支机构,我们已在上海设立了中国总部和亚洲研发中心,并在北京设立了代表处,负责注册及临床事务,旨在将更多创新药物带给中国的广大患者。如需了解更多有关信息,请访问 www.amgen.cn

关于上海交通大学
上海交通大学是我国历史最悠久、享誉海内外的高等学府之一,是教育部直属并与上海市共建的全国重点大学。经过121年的不懈努力,上海交通大学已经成为一所“综合性、研究型、国际化”的国内一流、国际知名大学。

学校目前共有28个学院/直属系,21个研究院,13家附属医院,2个附属医学研究所,12个直属单位,6个直属企业。学校现有本科专业64个,涵盖经济学、法学、文学、理学、工学、农学、医学、管理学和艺术等九个学科门类;一级学科博士学位授权点38个,覆盖经济学、法学、文学、理学、工学、农学、医学、管理学等8个学科门类;一级学科硕士学位授权点56个,覆盖12个学科门类;博士专业学位授权点3个;硕士专业学位授权点23个;35个博士后流动站。如需了解更多有关信息,请访问 www.sjtu.edu.cn